Ethics Committee and role

The AIFS Ethics Committee is a Human Research Ethics Committee registered with the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).


  • To ensure that the ethical standards outlined in the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Research Involving Humans, and elaborated in the Institute's ethics statement, Ethical Issues in the Research Process (1996), are met in all research projects undertaken by the Institute.
  • To ensure that projects meet the three key principles of respect for persons, beneficence, and justice, as set down in the National Statement.

The committee meets to consider:

  • new project proposals
  • receive brief oral and written reports on ongoing projects
  • consider any complaints or problems that may have arisen regarding ethical issues in Institute research
  • review the complaints procedures

Members of the Ethics Committee are appointed for three-year terms.

View the AIFS Ethics Committee Terms of Reference.

Committee members

  • Dr Duncan Ironmonger AMĀ (Chair)
    BCom, MCom (Melb); PhD (Cambridge)
    Department of Economics, University of Melbourne
  • Ms Lorraine Parsons
    BA (Latrobe); BSW (Latrobe); Grad.Cert. Management (Curtin)
    Social Worker, health service and government management in allied health and Aboriginal health
    Although born in Victoria, Lorraine identifies with her mother's Allyawarra country in Central Australia.
  • Rev. John Lamont
    BA (Latrobe); BTheol (United Faculty of Theology, Ormond College)
  • Dr Richard Ingleby
    MA, DPhil (Oxford); LLM (Cambridge)
    Latham Chambers, Faculty of Business and Law, Deakin University
  • Dr Kerreen Reiger
    BA (Hons) (Melb.), PhD (La Trobe)
    Honorary Associate, College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce, La Trobe University
  • Dr Sarah Wise
    BA Hons (Melb); MA (Melb); PhD (Melb)
    Anglicare Melbourne
  • Ms Victoria Triggs
    BA (Melb.), Grad. Dip. Ed. Admin. (Melb.), Williamson Fellow (Leadership Victoria), Grad. Dip. Australian Institute of Company Directors
    Lay person
  • Ms Carol Soloff
    B.Sc. (Hons) ANU
    Lay person
  • Mr Iain Walker
    Lay person

AIFS ex-officio member

Ms Kelly Hand
Deputy Director (Research)


What if I have concerns or complaints about the conduct of research/evaluation?

AIFS podcasts

Leading researchers discuss significant issues affecting Australian families.

Explore our featured podcasts


AIFS news

Get the latest news about our publications, research and upcoming events.